#DevCLokoja30DaysOfCode Recap: Joshua Alhassan

#DevCLokoja30DaysOfCode Recap: Joshua Alhassan

My name is Joshua Alhassan, a student of Federal University Lokoja.

WHAT I DECIDED TO LEARN

I decided to learn Javascript because it is a must-know programming language for the web which without, users can not enjoy the functionality and interactive experience of the web. Most of the functions and applications that make the internet absolutely necessary are coded with Javascript.

HOW DID YOU GET STARTED WITH LEARNING THEM

I got started learning Javascript first by requesting a for a good PDF material from a friend and also subscribing to an online Bootcamp for javascript only. Learning under the supervision Developer Circle Lokoja Challenge has been a great and exciting moment but also challenging. The 30 days of code challenge has been very helpful in spurring me into constant continuous learning. I am still in the learning process, but I do know how Javascript works and understand the concepts with the big scope of things taken into consideration (How programs are structured, the concept of objects and variables). I also know how to write small programs like a simple number guessing game, a todo list app, and a basic standard calculator.

DID YOU ACHIEVE YOUR SET GOALS WITHIN THE 30 DAYS?

I most definitely achieved my set goals and beyond for the 30 days of code. My set Goal was to focus just on Javascript without its extensions because I thought 30 days wouldn't be enough for me to achieve that. Not only did I learn Javascript, but i also introduced myself to REACT.js and NODE.js all within the 30 days of code.

WHAT LESSONS DID THE #DevCLokoja30DaysOfCode TEACH YOU?

One most important lessons DevCLokoja30DaysOfCode taught me was the importance of COLLABORATION: being actively involved in your local community(learning from and interacting with other developers). Another is the importance of setting a goal, being committed to it, and achieving it within the stipulated period of time.

WHICH MEMBER OF THE COMMUNITY DID YOU ASSIST DURING THE 30 DAYS OF CODE?

I faced some really hard part of javascript like .this, call stack, recursion, which were difficult to understand and whose explanation was not easily comprehensive by me based on the materials I was studying. So, I received assistance from Mr. ChukwuEmeka Nnana Oti, who is also a participant of the coding challenge during the 30 days of code. He referred me to other sources where I could get good material on what I was learning.

WHICH MEMBER OF THE COMMUNITY DID YOU ASSIST DURING THE 30 DAYS?

I assisted Mr. ChukwuEmeka Nnana Oti, who indicated an interest in advancing his knowledge of JavaScript extensions by sending him material on REACT.

WHAT ADVICE DO YOU HAVE FOR OTHER MEMBERS OF THE COMMUNITY WHO DIDN'T JOIN THE CHALLENGE OR JOINED AND WEREN'T CONSISTENT?

It was once said that "Opportunity lost can never be regained." Well, in this case, and platform [Developer Circle Lokoja], that doesn't hold water. If you missed this opportunity, no reason to worry, it will be restored and much more. Most importantly, you can challenge yourself for the next 30 days, and you will see how much more you can learn and things you can achieve.

WHAT DID YOU BUILD AT THE END OF THE CHALLENGE?

At the end of the challenge, I built something I was most sure and confident of "A SIMPLE - BASIC but STANDARD CALCULATOR" with great User interface and User experience. Below is the link to the project

IF YOU ARE AMONG THE WINNERS OF THE PRIZES, WHICH $12 UDEMY COURSE WILL YOU BE MORE INTERESTED IN, AND WHY?

I will be very interested in "THE COMPLETE ETHICAL HACKING COURSE: BEGINNER TO ADVANCED BY ERMIC KREPONIC" because as a developer, I will be creating web apps and sites that will contain relevant and sensitive information. So, in other for me to know how well to secure, protect and prevent data from being stolen and misused by malicious hackers as well: Discovering vulnerabilities from an attacker's point of view so that weak points can be fixed, also implementing a secure network that prevents security breaches. Furthermore, companies are in demand of ethical hackers who are proficient in working across multiple stacks and keeping every part of the system running and protected. Hence, the need and relevance for the course "ETHICAL HACKING COURSE."


Thanks to Facebook Developer Circle Lokoja and every of its team for making this possible.

#DevCLokoja30DaysOfCode