DevCLokoja7WeeksOfCode Program Recap

DevCLokoja7WeeksOfCode Program Recap

My Name is Alao-Abiodun-AbdulRahman, I'm backend Engineer building microservices and API integration using (JavaScript)Node.js, Express, MongoDB.

WHAT I DECIDED TO LEARN

I started the DevCLokoja7WeeksOfCode with the aim and objectives of improving my skills as a back-end Engineer, most especially the non-technical aspect e.g. communication and content writing. I decided to learn JavaScript basically server-side Node.js with express(framework), MongoDB, because, when I hear the term back-end, what interests me the most is the written of API which involves logic.

HOW DID YOU GET STARTED WITH LEARNING THEM

I Started my learning for 7weeksOfCode with some tutorials, then I moved to work on the challenges given to me relating to the back-end to learn, the 7weeksOfCode has been challenging and great because It also improves my consistency in learning and actually setting a goal for each day to be accomplished, I will continue the learning process every day because this is a good practice if you want to really master your skills very well.

DID YOU ACHIEVE YOUR SET GOALS WITHIN THE 7WeeksOfCode approximately 50 DAYS?

During the challenge, I achieved some of my goals, which most are basically soft skills like taking initiative, teamwork, and communication and some problem-solving

WHAT LESSONS DID THE #DevCLokoja7WeeksOfCode TEACH YOU?

The important lesson taught in this program is soft skills which are super underrated in the tech field skills like communication, problem-solving, taking initiative, teamwork, etc. are all things that you can learn and will be useful in your whole life/career and not just in one type job and also to be consistent and hardworking in whatever thing you do, because consistency will bring the best out of you and will make you not forget what you learn, also setting a goal that you know you can accomplish for the day.

WHICH MEMBER OF THE COMMUNITY DID YOU ASSIST DURING THE 7 WEEKS OF CODE?

I assisted people in during the 7WeeksOfCode DevCLokoja like helping in any issues on problem-solving, but I was able to answer some questions asked by the member relating to the tech and guide them.

WHAT ADVICE DO YOU HAVE FOR OTHER MEMBERS OF THE COMMUNITY WHO DIDN'T JOIN THE CHALLENGE OR JOINED AND WEREN'T CONSISTENT?

This is one of the great opportunity that is out there to help people grow their skills, because during the 30DaysOfCode DevCLokoja which was done last year which I did not partake but due to some issues and when I saw the program again on DevCLokoja about the 7WeeksOfCode, I was happy because this will actually make a to set some guidelines and pace in my learning, therefore I will advise people that are yet to join to take this advantage and be part of the program because it really a good community for learning and collaboration with other to gain knowledge. I'm still working on my project, but during the 7WeeksOfCode, I was among a team in an internship where we are asked to build a micro-services to create, delete, update, get a file.

WHAT DID YOU BUILD AT THE END OF THE CHALLENGE? At the end of the program, Though I was unable finish my project, but during the program got into an internship and I was able to collaborate with team and we work on a microservices project and also I was chosen as back-end lead to coordinate the back-end team and build an API for a back-end project, The URL shows the successful deployment of the back-end project and also the documentation of the project.

main-endpoint URL: infinite-harbor-67982.herokuapp.com

docs-endpoint URL: infinite-harbor-67982.herokuapp.com/docs

IF YOU ARE AMONG THE WINNERS OF THE PRIZES, WHICH PROGATE COURSE WILL YOU BE MORE INTERESTED IN, AND WHY?

I will be very much interested in React, but I would love if I am giving some courses on Udemy, because the React course in Progate just teach the basics of React, Though I have an access to Progate and I have already started learning in the platform but to improve more on it, I would love some Udemy course "COMPLETE REACT DEVELOPER IN 2020 (Redux, Hooks, and GraphQL)", "THE COMPLETE JUNIOR TO SENIOR DEVELOPER ROADMAP" and I would love to improve on my data-structures and algorithm skills by taking the course on "Master Coding Interview: Data Structures + Algorithm" and lastly, is a mentor someone who can guide, correct and criticize me in every step I take to grow as a software engineer.